my love is otherwise

I haven’t been out of the country since July, and i’m starting to get really antsy. There is nothing i love more than traveling, and it absolutely consumes my thoughts.

So in continuation of my last post, i am trying to better myself in the poetry realm. Maybe i only like this one because it is about Australia, but hey, at least i’m trying here.

The love of field and coppice,
Of green and shaded lanes,
Of ordered woods and gardens
Is running in your veins.
Strong love of grey-blue distance
Brown streams and soft, dim skies-
I know but cannot share it,
My love is otherwise.

An opal-hearted country,
A wilful, lavish land
All you who have not loved her,
You will not understand-
Though earth holds many splendors,
Wherever I may die,
I know to what brown country
My homing thoughts will fly.

-Dorothea Mackellar

Standard

Leave a Reply

