we brethren are

Only since college have I begun my slow process of appreciating poetry. This has certainly helped me along.

I died for beauty, but was scarce
Adjusted in the tomb,
When one who died for truth was lain
In an adjoining room.

He questioned softly why I failed?
‘For beauty,’ I replied.
‘And I for truth,-the two are one;
We brethren are,’ he said.

And so, as kinsmen met at night,
We talked between the rooms,
Until the moss had reached our lips,
And covered up our names.

Emily Dickinson

rotorua, new zealand

Standard

2 thoughts on “we brethren are

  1. Angelee Garcia says:

    I love Emily. Have you tried Mary Oliver?

    It’s 2:47 A.M., and I’m just creepin around your blog…..

Leave a Reply

